F@NB0Y$

Go Back   F@NB0Y$ > General > Tech Garage

View Poll Results: AMD or Intel processor?
AMD 2 33.33%
Intel 4 66.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2010, 06:48 PM   #1
Jake
In a word or a look
 
Jake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,491
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via MSN to Jake
Default Buying a computer soonish.

Was wondering, what do you guys find better? AMD or Intel?
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:49 PM   #2
Shig
Sandvich Lover
 
Shig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,913
Default

AMDs are usually cheaper, but I find Intels to be more reliable.
__________________
Shig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:59 PM   #3
Profanity
Quatro Pro
Administrator
 
Profanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,869
Default

I do not think either is inherently better.
__________________
Profanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 11:37 PM   #4
rebornMCW
Ring Your Bell
 
rebornMCW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,061
Default

I wanted to vote for AMD but I missed it. Go for AMD.
__________________
rebornMCW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 11:38 PM   #5
Nami
ナミ
Administrator
 
Nami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 45,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Profanity View Post
I do not think either is inherently better.
__________________
Nami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 11:44 PM   #6
rebornMCW
Ring Your Bell
 
rebornMCW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Copypasta
Here is the main differences between AMD and Intel.

1. Intel processors usually have more LVL 2 cache memory in them. The cache memory is the absolute fastest memory in the computer. It resides in the CPU. The more cache memory that you have the better the performance will be for gaming/photoshop/music editing.

2. AMD's CPU clock speed is underestimated. If you see a Phenom II x4 running at 2.4 GHz, it will actually be running at 2.66 GHz. AMD was built from the x86_64 family of intel so they can't surpass the cache memory of Intel, but they can develop their own technology that will 'be better' than the Intel family.

3. AMD processor chipsets are programmed with ATI graphics cards in mind. They will fully utilize the ATI graphics cards. Intel processor chipsets are programmed with nVidia in mind.

There really is not a better overall processor. Although Intel has better LVL 2 cache. AMD has better LVL 3 cache that resides off the CPU, but has the technology to make it act like it is on the CPU.
__________________
rebornMCW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 02:29 AM   #7
Mega
No-Fo You.
 
Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 53rd & 3rd
Posts: 12,477
Default

Intel, since I find AMD motherboard to be more of a pain to get.
__________________
Mega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 04:17 AM   #8
Jake
In a word or a look
 
Jake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,491
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via MSN to Jake
Default

I'm leaning more towards an Intel, I usually use geforce cards so that would work better in that respect. I'll keep that stuff in mind though Reborn!
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 08:00 AM   #9
The Cloft
Naked Again
 
The Cloft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OOPS I BROKE IT
Posts: 3,299
Default

Interesting tidbit about the gfx card optimizations... Never thought of that. I'm using GeForce and AMD atm, and that could be why I'm not getting the fullest out of the card. Either that or it's an old card that's kind of beat up.
The Cloft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 07:22 PM   #10
That Frood
Senior Member
 
That Frood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7,401
Default

Hey Rud and I want two more people to play Alien Swarm with us.
That Frood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 07:57 AM   #11
Jake
In a word or a look
 
Jake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,491
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via MSN to Jake
Default

Well, thanks for the input guys, think I'm gonna go with an Intel processor. Also Frood, we make gud team
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer is an Ass Ace Tech Garage 4 11-05-2011 06:21 PM
PS3 Buying Monocle Sony 16 06-30-2011 03:09 PM
What's going on with my computer? Devilman501 Tech Garage 3 07-29-2010 11:29 AM
Buying a DS tomorrow, tell me of some good games. Inagi Nintendo 24 11-30-2009 12:10 PM
Disney buying up Marvel sdhonda General Discussion 102 09-03-2009 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.