F@NB0Y$
Old 06-30-2011, 01:05 AM   #1
Monocle
Execute unbeatable force
 
Monocle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southern Blighty
Posts: 6,739
Send a message via Yahoo to Monocle Send a message via Skype™ to Monocle
Default PS3 Buying

Over the next few months I'm probably going to start saving up to buy a PS3, however I'm wondering which model to get.

Right now I'm thinking I'll get the discontinued 60GB model since it has backwards compatibility and it'll be cheaper, but then really it's only 20 more to get a slim with a much bigger hard drive.

I was just wondering if anyone knows a reason I should get a newer model over the older one. Obviously they look nicer and aren't as large, but do they have any new features the others don't? And does anyone with experience know if the older ones are more likely to break down? The internet isn't giving me any straight answers.
__________________
Monocle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:23 AM   #2
Nami
ナミ
Administrator
 
Nami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 45,390
Default

The older ones seem to have a tendency to brick lately. Seem to be some of them not dealing so well with more recent firmware, overheating and only showing the red LED when they come on. I doubt it's wide spread, but it also doesn't seem to happen to the newer PS3s.
__________________
Nami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:38 AM   #3
Monocle
Execute unbeatable force
 
Monocle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southern Blighty
Posts: 6,739
Send a message via Yahoo to Monocle Send a message via Skype™ to Monocle
Default

Hmmm. Backwards compatibility isn't a huuuuge concern, so if I have to pay 20 more for something that won't brick on me I think I can do that.
__________________
Monocle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:54 AM   #4
Ves
The Human
 
Ves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8,929
Default

I really wish they would add PS2 compatibility back.
Ves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:56 AM   #5
Nami
ナミ
Administrator
 
Nami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 45,390
Default

Then, of course, there's the bigger hard drives on the newer ones. I'm not running out of space on my 80gb, though.
__________________
Nami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 02:02 AM   #6
Ves
The Human
 
Ves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8,929
Default

you can always add a new hd, they aren't proprietary like 360 drives, so you don't have to do a lot of bullshit to make them work.
Ves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:53 AM   #7
Doctor Zhao
D
 
Doctor Zhao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Red Zone
Posts: 4,256
Default

I stupidly bought a 40GB one thinking it would be the oldest and would have backwards compatibility. It didn't and now I have 900MB of free space left (
__________________
Doctor Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:57 AM   #8
Nami
ナミ
Administrator
 
Nami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 45,390
Default

I'd kill for 40gb on my 360.
__________________
Nami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:59 AM   #9
Frent
Elder Statesman
 
Frent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10,550
Send a message via MSN to Frent Send a message via Skype™ to Frent
Default

One thing that was disappointing about buying an older PS3: the backwards compatibility has a catch. It doesn't have any spots for PS2 memory cards. So if you were looking to discard your old PS2 system and continue playing old favorite PS2 games with their save files, you can't. You have to start from scratch.
__________________
PSN: FrentYumon / Xbox Live: Frent S Yumon / NNID: FrentYumon
"Comrades, trust, and cooperation. Those are the only true treasures in this world." - Daccat
"It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live." - Albus Dumbledore
"A pig's gotta fly." - Porco Rosso
Frent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:01 AM   #10
Nami
ナミ
Administrator
 
Nami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 45,390
Default

Actually, there's a way to do that. It's just dumb and unnecessarily expensive.
__________________
Nami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:01 AM   #11
Hace
hello
 
Hace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Pitt
Posts: 6,798
Default

Isn't there an adapter for that?
__________________
Hace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:03 AM   #12
Hace
hello
 
Hace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Pitt
Posts: 6,798
Default

http://www.amazon.com/PS3-Memory-Car.../dp/B000K1GZIU

There are cheaper versions out there, but this is the official sony one.

Edit: 10 days too late
__________________
Hace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:03 AM   #13
Penakoto
Squirrels are Good
 
Penakoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Somewhere New
Posts: 12,507
Default

I'd say play it safe and go with a newer, slim model and (assuming you don't already havy one) spend $40-50 on a used PS2 if you really want one.

Don't underestimate storage space, I've had to delete things because I had no room on it, and it's an 80gig. I don't even have anything saved on it except save files, game installations, DLC and a few images. No big video files, or any downloaded games except Arcana Heart 3.
Penakoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:04 AM   #14
Monocle
Execute unbeatable force
 
Monocle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southern Blighty
Posts: 6,739
Send a message via Yahoo to Monocle Send a message via Skype™ to Monocle
Default

Are all the models region free?
__________________
Monocle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:05 AM   #15
Nami
ナミ
Administrator
 
Nami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 45,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hace View Post
http://www.amazon.com/PS3-Memory-Car.../dp/B000K1GZIU

There are cheaper versions out there, but this is the official sony one.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Monocle View Post
Are all the models region free?
Not necessarily, but the software available for them almost unanimously is. So they may as well be.

Films are region locked, though.
__________________
Nami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 09:30 AM   #16
Mega
No-Fo You.
 
Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 53rd & 3rd
Posts: 12,477
Default

Region locking as I've found mostly only applies to a handful of online features.

Personally I'd go for the slim and use the rest to buy a actual PS2.
__________________
Mega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:09 PM   #17
Frent
Elder Statesman
 
Frent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10,550
Send a message via MSN to Frent Send a message via Skype™ to Frent
Default

Great news on the adapter. I'll get one and shelve my PS2. Thanks, Nami.
__________________
PSN: FrentYumon / Xbox Live: Frent S Yumon / NNID: FrentYumon
"Comrades, trust, and cooperation. Those are the only true treasures in this world." - Daccat
"It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live." - Albus Dumbledore
"A pig's gotta fly." - Porco Rosso
Frent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a computer soonish. Jake Tech Garage 10 07-26-2010 07:57 AM
Buying a DS tomorrow, tell me of some good games. Inagi Nintendo 24 11-30-2009 12:10 PM
Disney buying up Marvel sdhonda General Discussion 102 09-03-2009 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.