F@NB0Y$

Go Back   F@NB0Y$ > General > Tech Garage

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2011, 05:09 PM   #1
Lagann
Senior Member
 
Lagann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 934
Send a message via MSN to Lagann
Default Building my first computer!

Man, I haven't posted in a while.

I've recently come into enough funds to build my own computer, which is something I've been wanting to do for a while. I've compiled a list of parts that I'm planning on getting and since I'm a green horn at computer building, I'd like some help.

I'm reasonably sure that all these components will work together just fine, but all I would like is a second opinion to make sure I'm not screwing up in terms of incompatibility.

Here's the list of components:

Graphics card: ASUS GeForce GTX 570
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Processor: AMD FX-8150
Cooling Fan: Corsair Hydro H100 CPU Liquid Cooler
Case: Corsair 800D Full Tower
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 Dual-Channel
SSD (For OS): Crucial SSD 64GB
HDD (For Data): Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Optical Drive: Lite-on Internal Blu-ray Writer
PSU: OCZ 1000W Modular Power Supply
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Just take a look at the parts and let me know if you see any problems that may arise. Thanks a lot!
__________________
Lagann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 12:40 AM   #2
Ves
The Human
 
Ves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8,929
Default

AMD processors benchmark lower than their intel counterparts, but it's sort of a wash.

Also this computer is pretty much overkill for anything you could reasonably do with it.
Ves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 12:46 AM   #3
Nuva
yes i vape
 
Nuva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Your house
Posts: 19,811
Default

I hate AMD processors and am heavily against them.

They crap out way too fast.
__________________
Nuva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 12:56 PM   #4
Lagann
Senior Member
 
Lagann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 934
Send a message via MSN to Lagann
Default

I was actually discussing this with a friend of mine today, and apparently the FX series has been a flop. That's unfortunate, but I've decided to replace the Motherboard and processor with these two:

Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth P67
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600k

Also, Ves, I totally agree that this system is going to be complete overkill. I intend to have this computer for a while, so I might as well make it so that it will be relevant for a while.

So does it look like there will be any problems in construction? Will all the parts play nice with each other?
__________________
Lagann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 01:14 PM   #5
Auntie Grieves
Tip of the Dragon Penis
 
Auntie Grieves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 5,930
Default

You should paint flames on the case.
__________________
Auntie Grieves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 01:52 PM   #6
Lagann
Senior Member
 
Lagann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 934
Send a message via MSN to Lagann
Default

Or a massive dong, since I'm most definitely using this to overcompensate for my tiny one.
__________________
Lagann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 04:38 PM   #7
Beev
Kicker of Elves
 
Beev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,858
Send a message via AIM to Beev Send a message via MSN to Beev
Default

it's pretty small, yeah
__________________
Beev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 06:20 PM   #8
Penakoto
Squirrels are Good
 
Penakoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Somewhere New
Posts: 12,507
Default Looking for a better graphics card

Because it's almost Christmas and better graphics is a gift that keeps giving.

According to the sticker on the side of my computer, the current one is an NVidia GeForce GT320 1024MB.

I have very little experience when it comes to this stuff, if more information is needed I'll try to get it, I'm looking for something great but not super expensive (I'd say... something around $100 being the limit? Is that reasonable?), and if there are any other parts that might contribute to better looking games or higher FPS, tell me.
Penakoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 06:58 PM   #9
Ves
The Human
 
Ves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8,929
Default

This thread is really uninformative, and it's hard to help people with computer related questions over the internet.

If the graphics card info is on the side of the case you have a prebuilt machine. Link to machine specs including case size, mobo, psu, etc. This stuff is important.

It's hard to say do xyz when people have no clue what your computer can handle.

Also I would do some reading up on computer components, you can learn a lot.
Ves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 08:27 PM   #10
Penakoto
Squirrels are Good
 
Penakoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Somewhere New
Posts: 12,507
Default

I'll look up the information that's needed tomorrow morning when I'm on my PC.

Is there a website or a program on the computer to find out what I have, I know there's on in my menu, but if there's something else you know about that'll tell me my specifications, that'd help.
Penakoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 09:21 PM   #11
Ves
The Human
 
Ves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8,929
Default

Since your computer is prebuilt you should be able to find the model number somewhere on it.
Ves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 09:28 PM   #12
Penakoto
Squirrels are Good
 
Penakoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Somewhere New
Posts: 12,507
Default

Alright... I've got two things that might be it.

On the same sticker that had the graphics card, there's "AM3910-E3122"

On a different sticker, there's "Model: Aspire M3910"

...Either of those help?
Penakoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 09:49 PM   #13
Ves
The Human
 
Ves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8,929
Default

Okay looking at the spec sheet it has a 300w power supply, so if you want to slap a new graphics card in you are going to need to buy a new one that has enough wattage to power the card.

If your budget is 100ish bucks you won't be able to really get anything out of an upgrade if you need to buy both the psu and a new gpu.

4GB of RAM and the i7(wooh) you already have don't need to be upgraded, but your mobo supports up to 8gb of ram, though I don't know how many slots you have.

Last edited by Ves; 12-05-2011 at 09:53 PM.
Ves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 10:03 PM   #14
Penakoto
Squirrels are Good
 
Penakoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Somewhere New
Posts: 12,507
Default

100$ is just for the card, I could always get the power supply myself, or ask for it from someone else, in fact the unspoken limit might be higher than $100, so just forget about the limit, if there's a really good card that's also expensive, I can work things out.

I think I've got two slots, both occupied. Not 100% sure, but I remember it being mentioned by the salesmen.

Last edited by Penakoto; 12-05-2011 at 10:06 PM.
Penakoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 02:03 PM   #15
InducedPig
Piggy piggy piggy
 
InducedPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York, dudes
Posts: 624
Default

Back at my parents house, I have an old 650W (I think) PSU that's just lying around from the last time my brother upgraded his computer. If you'd like, I could probably ship it to you somehow, once I'm back home for the holidays.

That thing could finally get put to use again.
InducedPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:19 PM   #16
Penakoto
Squirrels are Good
 
Penakoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Somewhere New
Posts: 12,507
Default

No, no InducedPig, that's fine, but thanks for the offer.

And let's say we forget about the price limit on this, even if I can't afford, or it's too expensive a gift, let's just focus on what's best for the machine I have.
Penakoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 04:52 AM   #17
InducedPig
Piggy piggy piggy
 
InducedPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York, dudes
Posts: 624
Default

Well, I'm kinda out of the computer hardware loop at the moment, but when I was still in it Radeon made some pretty amazing low end of the high end video cards. That stuff varies from card generation to card generation like crazy though, and last time I was still in the loop was when the 9600 GT came out, so probably not the most reliable advice.

When I was in the loop though, and in need of help putting together my own computer The EggXpert Forums were extremely helpful. And there's an entire section dedicated to computer upgrades with a subforum specifically for graphics cards too. If you do some really quick snooping around there you should be able to get a pretty good jist of what your looking for. And if you want to post, you're sure to get a good response; the community is super helpful and knowledgeable.
InducedPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:04 PM   #18
Penakoto
Squirrels are Good
 
Penakoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Somewhere New
Posts: 12,507
Default

I'll keep that in mind, thank you.
Penakoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:07 PM   #19
Tombstone
Famous Royalsguardsman
Moderator
 
Tombstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 14,833
Default Thinking about getting a new CPU, wondering if anyone has any advice

So, figure I should finally upgrade my CPU since it's a dual core 2.6GHz and not really the best, and really the only thing holding back my computer. I figure I should upgrade to Quad Core and what not so I can get some more power and actually have my CPU meet the recommended requirements of most games. Also gotta get ready for the NEXT GENERATION of gaming.

I was thinking about getting an i5 or i7, though I was also wondering if anyone else had any suggestions. Though that might not be possible with my current MOBO, if my understanding from this page is correct. This is what came with this PC when I got it back during Christmas 2011 and never really bothered with anything about it, but it seems like it might only be compatible with Intel processors if I'm reading that page right. I'm dumb though, so I might be completely off. Getting a new MOBO might also be a good thing to do.
__________________

Last edited by Tombstone; 03-07-2013 at 08:12 PM.
Tombstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:09 PM   #20
Rhyolite
Wizard
 
Rhyolite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 213
Default

Your mobo has an LGA 1155 socket, which fits modern intel processors! You can get either an i5 or an i7 if you wanted to upgrade. Go for the fancy new ivy bridge ones. ;)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...d=1&Submit=ENE

Bear in mind you can't overclock with the north bridge on your mobo, so try to go for a cpu with a faster factory clock.

Last edited by Rhyolite; 03-07-2013 at 09:12 PM.
Rhyolite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:53 PM   #21
Haven
the Ever Smiling
 
Haven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere in Nevada...
Posts: 8,470
Default Getting a new graphics card, PART II

I have an ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics card, and I want to upgrade. It's just not up to par with all these games I've got.

I'm thinking of replacing it with this one, and at only sixty bucks it looks like a good deal.

However, I'm not as tech savvy as I'd like to be, so I come to you guys. What do you think? Should I get it?
__________________
NAVEI

(please read it!)

Last edited by Haven; 03-31-2013 at 02:04 AM.
Haven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:12 PM   #22
Ace
Pet?
 
Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,273
Default

If you're looking to go on the cheaper end it seems fine to me. By no means a great card, but you should be able to run most new games on around medium settings, depending on the rest of your system specs, and obviously the game. Out of curiosity, what's the rest of your system look like? RAM and Processor, specifically.
__________________
PSN: AceEpocs Steam Account: acescope 3DS Friend Code: 4897-6046-0926
Ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:20 PM   #23
Ace
Pet?
 
Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,273
Default

i5 would be the most logical way to go, in my opinion. An i7 is fantastic, but for gaming it is definitely overkill. Most games won't even make proper use of that many cores. I went from a pretty good AMD quad core to an i7 with 12 logical processors, and I didn't see much of a jump in performance for games. But yes, you need an Intel processor. Boards are either AMD or Intel processors, and then specific sockets for certain processors. Any of the processors on the page Ryolite linked would be fine.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116504

Something like this would probably be my recommendation.
__________________
PSN: AceEpocs Steam Account: acescope 3DS Friend Code: 4897-6046-0926
Ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:39 PM   #24
Haven
the Ever Smiling
 
Haven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere in Nevada...
Posts: 8,470
Default

4 GB RAM and AMD Phenom(tm) 9100e Quad-Core Processor.
__________________
NAVEI

(please read it!)
Haven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:58 PM   #25
Ace
Pet?
 
Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,273
Default

Seems like a lower end processor as well, but definitely could be worse. I'd also say get 8GB of RAM, but 4 isn't bad. Either way, that card should be fine, and if you ever get a new computer would still be good and usable. Anything is better than the integrated graphics most retail desktops come with.
__________________
PSN: AceEpocs Steam Account: acescope 3DS Friend Code: 4897-6046-0926
Ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:15 PM   #26
Shig
Sandvich Lover
 
Shig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,913
Default

What's your budget?
__________________
Shig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:29 PM   #27
Haven
the Ever Smiling
 
Haven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere in Nevada...
Posts: 8,470
Default

Cheap as hell. :D
I'm not looking to get super high-end graphics as it doesn't matter that much to me, just something that will run most games without chugging.
__________________
NAVEI

(please read it!)
Haven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:57 PM   #28
Haven
the Ever Smiling
 
Haven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere in Nevada...
Posts: 8,470
Default

Okay, now I'm looking at this one. Even better?
Found it on this site and it seems pretty legitimate.
__________________
NAVEI

(please read it!)
Haven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 11:43 PM   #29
Shig
Sandvich Lover
 
Shig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,913
Default

I'd go with the 7750 or even the 7770 if you can afford one, it's an amazing card for the price.
__________________
Shig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:45 AM   #30
Ace
Pet?
 
Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,273
Default

I'd say your first one is the better choice as it has 2GB of video RAM, as opposed to the 1GB the second card has.
__________________
PSN: AceEpocs Steam Account: acescope 3DS Friend Code: 4897-6046-0926
Ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this computer build be pretty good? Ethan8-Bit Tech Garage 2 09-01-2011 06:14 PM
Going to build a computer Ace Tech Garage 18 10-24-2009 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.